Configure Widgets

On pages where you are using layouts and widgets (such as the home page, or a Landing page, or a Content page where you've added something like an optional sidebar), you can edit each widget individually, create new widgets, and drag and drop widgets into different regions as desired.

How to Edit/Configure a Widget

At the bottom of the page, select "Customize this page".

From here, you can drag and move existing widgets, edit existing widgets, remove existing widgets, and create new widgets.

When in "editing" mode, you will see either the title of the widget, or a description of the widget type in small text at the top of each widget. If the widget is not one of the "View Panes" or an existing content item, and no title is added to the widget, the descriptive text will say "No Title".

IMPORTANT: After saving an individual widget by clicking the "Save" button, you must also click "Save" at the bottom of the page. Otherwise, your changes will be lost. Click "Cancel" to disregard any changes you've made.

Widgets and revisions

Widget and layout changes are included in every revision. Any time you revert to a previous revision, you will be reverting the whole page to its state at the time of that revision, including body and other content, widgets, and layout.

Reusable widgets are the only exception - they will always display their latest version (meaning, revisions are not tracked on widgets marked as "reusable"). 

Whole-page revisions are available on any regular page, such as a content page, news item, or other content created using the Add Content menu. Revisions are not available on special pages such as the News Archive page or other built-in pages.

When customizing a page, you will see a Create a new revision checkbox at the bottom, with the Save and Cancel buttons. On your live site, this box will be checked by default. On your test site, revisions are most likely turned off and the box will be unchecked by default. When the box is checked, you will also see a text field for log messages.

To make the revision log clearer, add a log message every time you create a revision when using the Customize this page button.

Screenshot showing the Create new revision checkbox and log message field

If the revision checkbox is unchecked when you save your customizations, those changes will be added to the current revision. You cannot revert these changes without also reverting other changes that were made in the current revision, including changes to body content or other fields on the Edit tab.

If you create a new non-reusable widget and add it to a page, then revert to an earlier revision before the widget was created, the widget will not be available on the page. If you want to include it on the page, you will need to either recreate it manually or re-revert to a revision after it was added, then redo your other changes. See Revisions for more information.

Widget Title Styles

With many of the widget types, there is an option to add a title to the widget.

By default, all titles will be a "heading level 2" (<h2>), and will look like the default heading style of an <h2>. This style is called "Content Page Default":

There is also an option to use a subtler heading style, called "Widget Default Style":

There are two different ways to select these styles for your widgets:

1) Select the style on a widget-by-widget basis. To do this, click "Customize this Page," then click the paintbrush icon for the widget you would like to modify:

Select which style you'd like to use, then click the "Next" button:

2) Set the default for your widget title styles for your whole site, so the title will always be the same unless you specify otherwise (following the above steps for "widget-by-widget" basis). To do this, navigate to your Site Builder dashboard, then select "Theme Settings" under "Other Administration":

Navigate to to the bottom of the page and expand the "Miscellaneous" section. From there, you can select your default style. Click "Save Configuration" when you're done: